#FlashbackFriday – SammyDress.com Review

Post Title Image

A while ago I was invited to review the products and service from online clothing vendor, SammyDress.com.

As a tribute to the change of seasons (and the need to get a new winter wardrobe) I give you my review of SammyDress.com, originally reviewed back on 9 March 2014.

I’ll be paying another visit to this merchant’s website shortly in the hopes of buying some winter pieces for my family.

Please note that as this article was originally posted almost 3 years ago, the prices and range will have varied.

The item I reviewed below is still in my winter wardrobe.

I have worn it quite often over the years and it has held up quite well.

The offending scent mentioned below is well and truly gone and amazingly it still fits!

I would recommend visiting the merchant’s website to see what they have available this season.


Originally posted 9 March 2014

I was recently invited to review a product from overseas e-tailer, Sammydress.com

I have heard of this merchant before on various forums relating to online fashion and accessories.

Sammydress.com invited me to pick out a product from their web based store to review and the item I selected was a Single Breasted PU Leather Jacket which they sell for AUD $19.81.

Leather Jacket Front

Now while this item was given to me I want to assure that the following review is a true and accurate description of my experience, the product and service in question. All opinions are my own.

About the E-tailer:

First of all Sammydress.com is a global online fashion e-tail company with their base of operations in Hong Kong.

This e-tailer offers a vast selection of Mens, Womens and Kidswear as well as wedding apparel, lingerie, fashion jewellery/watches, shoes and handbags. They also offer beauty accessories and a range of toys and home décor.

Their product range is vast and the prices are certainly very appealing; some handbags for example start at as little as AUD $5.40 (plus P&H). Be advised that Postage and Handling is calculated based on weight and the total cost of shipping is calculated at checkout.

The style of clothing is modern and youthful; even the blazers and trousers have a hip and trendy edge. Not much perhaps for the office but plenty for day to day and formal occasions.

While the style and range may appeal to almost anybody, those with large or curvaceous figures ought to be advised that the size range appears to be designed for those with a more petite frame.

The XL size which has a bust circumference of approx. 92cm is roughly an AU size 12 and in some cases, some items (like my jacket) only come in one size.

Indeed, many of the models depicted on the website have quite slender frames. That said, if you are on the petite side, you’ll be spoiled for choice at a place like Sammydress.com

In terms of postage and delivery, my item was delivered by Fastways Couriers and took just 9 days to reach me from Hong Kong which I think is amazingly fast. Sammydress.com offer 3 different methods of shipping from standard to expedited, the cost of which is calculated and selected during checkout.

The jacket itself came folded up and wrapped in plastic.

Leather Jacket Back

The outer fabric is soft, black faux leather which was slightly wrinkled from the journey although after a few days in the closet those seem less noticeable.

There’s a strong vinyl-type scent coming from the fabric which hopefully will also fade with time.

There are two zippered pockets in the front. The zippers are a bit stiff but I imagine they will loosen with wear.

There are 2 snaps across the top collar and 5 down the front. All of which are coated in a type of plastic veneer coating which sadly has begun to chip despite the garment not having been worn yet. This will not be noticed however when the jacket is worn with the front ‘opened up’ as depicted in the website pictures.

There is a long zipper down the front which arrived with some small white residue at the top. A little gentle scrubbing removed this however and from a distance it is not noticeable.

Leather Jacket Close up

The only tag on the inside of the jacket is a small white label marked ‘L’ indicating a large size.

The website does list the jacket’s actual measurements so you can compare them with the site’s Size Guide. The measurements of this jacket indicate that size L is approx. size AU/UK 10. I am an AU size 10 and the jacket fits me perfectly and is not too tight.

The jacket is comfortable to wear, looks great, not too heavy and I’m certain will keep me warm with the approaching winter. Overall I’m very happy with this jacket and it will make a nice addition to my winter wardrobe.

Jacket front view

By the way if you’re wondering why I’m not smiling in the pictures it’s because I kept laughing during the “photo shoot” and I was concentrating so hard to look professional! Clearly, I am NOT a natural. haha

For modern fashion and accessories at a bargain price be sure to check out the range SammyDress.com

Happy Shopping!

  • Lady V
As always, shop safely. Please be sure to visit my Caveat Emptor section for further information about safe online shopping. All opinions and experiences are personal. While the item in question was gifted to me, I was not otherwise paid for this review.

 

Leave a Reply

